Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast, Harrisonburg, Virginia, (VA)

Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast

547 East Market Street
Harrisonburg VA 22801
(800) 445-5330
(540) 433-8233
View Map
Get Directions

Visit Our Full Website
Innkeepers: Wayne Engel
Email Innkeeper Availability
What Previous Guests Have Said...
Showing results 21 - 30 of 58 Reviews
Guest Reviews
Posted By on 10/26/2013
Stayed at Stonewall Jackson Inn in Harrisonburg in September 2013 as part of our USA vacation. This guest house is run by a semi-retired professor (Wayne) at the local university with the help of a very willing manager (Jonathan). Neither seem to have much experience of running an inn, but try hard. The welcome was extremely friendly and we were given a great deal of information about the locality, places to eat (vouchers provided for free desserts at many local restaurants, but not always honored by the restaurants) and what to do in the area. The breakfasts, taken on the patio or in the summerhouse annex, both of which are accessed the kitchen, are excellent and prepared by Wayne & Jonathan. The room (Sherman) was quirky - an "L" shape with one bed in each arm of the "L", and a handbasin in the room, with a tiny shower/toilet attached. Clearly the housekeeper makes the bed, changes the towels etc but does not do any dusting, as the room was littered with dust and cobwebs. However, we enjoyed our stay and the friendliness of Wayne and Jonathan shone.

Response
Good tip for big people, the shower and bath in this room is the smallest one. Additionally, the beds are smaller with just a full and twin in each gable. Folks normally in size find it cozy and families with a teenager like the privacy of the gabled twin that gives both some separation. Also, the vanity which is in the room makes it conveniently accessible while another family member is enjoying the privacy of a shower or toilet. The Sherman is one of our least expensive rooms for all those reasons. The king and queen rooms have ample larger bathrooms for the larger folks. Thanks for the mention of the mention of the over-site of the housekeeper in respect to her dusting. Needless to say it gives us an excuse to continue to flog them on occasion :-) Seriously, there is no excuse for that, and I have attended to your observation. Thank you for your kind words in respect to Jonathan and myself in respect to our food and service, I an not sure what standard was used to judge us as inexperienced...That would be really great and helpful to us!
Overall: AverageAverageAverageAverageAverage
Cleanliness: Okay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problems
Atmosphere: AverageAverageAverageAverageAverage
Food: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Hospitality: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By on 10/13/2013
We stayed at Stonewall Jackson Inn to celebrate our honeymoon. We wanted to do the wine trail and had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. The prices were VERY reasonable and our breakfast both mornings, was absolutely amazing!! Especially the eggs Benedict. Wayne, the inn keeper and Jonathan, the assistant inn keeper, were both incredibly friendly and welcoming, and made our stay very memorable. They even gave us hugs on the way out. We also both got in-room massages while we were staying there, and very much enjoyed those. They will tell you anything you need to know about the town, restaurants, wineries in the area, etc. Wayne and Jonathan were such happy people, that it was contagious and refreshing. We will be returning for our one year anniversary! :)
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By MG on 09/22/2013
My wife and I were staying in Harrisonburg for a few days to visit her alma mater James Madison University and to see some friends in the area. I was looking for a Bed and Breakfast to stay at, for a change of pace, and I have always had a soft spot for B&B’s since first staying in one in England years ago. The Stonewall Jackson Inn was a wonderful experience. The accommodations were very comfortable, the surroundings were peaceful and quiet, and the breakfast was worth the trip all on its own. For dinner, there are several great restaurants to go to in downtown Harrisonburg, as recommended by Jonathan at the Stonewall Jackson Inn. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend the Stonewall Jackson Inn to others. Wayne, Jonathan and Julie could not have been more accommodating and helpful, and they are what make this place so wonderful to visit.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By alygal1263 on 08/25/2013
My girlfriends and I stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Inn for a bachelorette party and enjoyed every minute of it! The Girls' Getaway package was a perfect addition that made the weekend relaxing. Moreover, Wayne, the owner, was a fabulous chef and very helpful when we were setting up and booking our transportation to local wineries!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Todd on 06/12/2013
We've stayed in lots of B&Bs, but we have found a new favorite in the Stonewal Jackson Inn!!! The Inn is lovely and comfortable and the food is fantastic, but the real draw is the hospitality! Wayne is a gem!! We wanted to pack him up and bring him home with us! Jonathan made us feel likekone of the family. We will definitely be back again and again!!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By PG on 06/05/2013
Beautiful home within walking distances to downtown Harrisonburg. We enjoyed the day on the deck and walked downtown for dinner. The room was great and very comfy. Breakfast was delicious and ready at the time we chose. The entire host and staff was so friendly. We enjoyed our getaway! And look forward to our next stay
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By jicdoug on 05/22/2013
Although my wife and I were half sick, we still very much enjoyed our 22nd anniversary at Stonewall Jackson (mid May). The B&B itself (and our room) was beautifully laid out and decorated. The beds were comfortable (my wife said she hadn't slept that well in a long time), and the rooms had interesting books to browse in the realms of history and philosophy/psychology. It was raining, so we drove 5 minutes to the historic downtown area and ate at Clementine's, a uniquely decorated restaurant/bar with live music in the evenings. (I use "unique" as a complement - the walls were covered with interesting "found art" and splashes of color.) The night was quiet aside from the sounds of cars whooshing by. We had our windows open. My wife slept well though I, a light sleeper, had to use ear plugs. Breakfast was what one should expect at a good B&B: good food, upscale country setting, and good rapport with the wait staff. I could have lounged there much longer sipping tea, conversing about psychology (the owner is a James Madison professor), and reading the newspaper (provided), but "had" to go wine tasting. Lastly, Stonewall Jackson B&B was much more reasonably priced than most others I saw in the Charlottesville/Harrisonburg area. - Sincerely, Doug & Holly
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By Rusk0610 on 05/19/2013
We chose to stay at the Stonewall Jackson Inn B&B for our first year anniversary, and it couldn’t have been a better pick! The staff was exceedingly wonderful, and even surprised us with cupcakes to celebrate. They also helped my husband surprise me with two dozen roses in our room one night. The staff had great suggestions on dinner options and things to do in the area. The breakfasts were amazing! The best breakfasts we’ve had in a very long time. The rooms were also cozy and comfortable. We will definitely be coming back to the Stonewall Jackson; I have a feeling this is the first of many visits.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Fay on 04/29/2013
We had a very enjoyable stay. Everyone that works at the inn was very welcoming and went out of their way to meet our needs. The inn is a remarkable, historical building. The breakfast was delicious.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By on 01/02/2013
Came across this bed and breakfast on our way home from New York. It was so much more pleasant to be in this restored mansion than a hotel. The staff welcomed us and got is settled in quickly in a very comfortable room. The breakfast prepared the next morning was amazing. We will definitely plan to return here this year.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

<< [Prev] 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 [Next] >>
Write a Review

Visit the website for
Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast a Harrisonburg, VA Bed & Breakfast

Virginia Bed and Breakfasts | Harrisonburg Bed and Breakfasts
 
Accommodations
Rate: $89-$189
Rooms: 10
Handicap Accessible (limited)
Children ages 12+
Print This Page
Tell a friend
Additional Information:
Save in My Inns
Activities
Amenities
Attractions
Availability
Children Policy
Directions
Email
Inspections / Associations
Meals
Policies
Rate Your Stay
Recipes
Reviews
Specials
Website