Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast, Harrisonburg, Virginia, (VA)

Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast

547 East Market Street
Harrisonburg VA 22801
(800) 445-5330
(540) 433-8233
View Map
Get Directions

Visit Our Full Website
Innkeepers: Wayne Engel
Email Innkeeper Availability
What Previous Guests Have Said...
Showing results 21 - 30 of 68 Reviews
Guest Reviews
Posted By Tennis Guy on 07/16/2014
The Inn was wonderful and exceeded our expectations. The room was great, the food wonderful and the staff (Jonathan, Julie, Steve, Mimi, Johnny, Cssandra) could not have been better. Our hats off to Wayne (owner) and his wonderful staff.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Nick on 07/13/2014
We came for a two night stay in the middle of the week in celebration of a birthday. The inn is a short drive from several vineyards, and even a cidery. Breakfast was delicious and fun. It was really nice to sit outside on their deck to eat (though there were indoor options as well). Later one evening, we shared a bottle of wine on the deck to relax. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Jennifer on 07/07/2014
Even before we got to the Stonewall Jackson Inn, the innkeepers sent us the most welcoming email I've ever gotten from any business. They assisted us in making dinner reservations for our anniversary before we came to town. Once we arrived, they were great about showing us directions around town and making suggestions. The room was very nice. Highlights: incredibly comfortable bedding, a great view of the mountains in the distance, pretty furniture, and lots of Civil War/local history books. There are a couple of hammocks on the property and a great veranda covered with climbing vines & twinkling lights. Easy walking distance to the town. Breakfast was so good I'm still thinking about it a couple of weeks later! The innkeepers were extremely personable and kind throughout our stay and check out was a breeze. It beats a chain hotel any day of the week and we'll definitely return the next time we're in the area.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: AverageAverageAverageAverageAverage

Posted By Connie on 06/27/2014
Travelling from Canada to a golf event in Richmond we decided to stay overnight at this welcoming historic downtown home . Jonathan met us in the driveway to help with luggage, get us checked in and oriented and pointed in the right direction for an evening dinning experience. Breakfast on the back porch was superb. Everything about our accommodation and experience was first class. We would definitely return. Room Tip: Large room on main floor with private entrance was excellent.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Breanna on 06/13/2014
Seriously, this was the most comfortable bed that either of us have ever slept in. Our stay was short and we got in late, but everything about the Stonewall Jackson Inn felt warm, welcoming, and we immediately felt right at home. I called the morning of and talked to one of the guys on the phone about our late arrival, when we got there there was a note on the door with my name and instructions on how to find our room and where to meet them for breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was delicious and everyone at the Inn was truly welcoming and the stay was a delight. I only wish we had reason to stay longer.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Tony on 06/04/2014
This was easily the best B&B experience I have ever had. My girlfriend and I we're looking for a quick weekend B&B getaway and could not have been more happy with our decision. Beautiful, historic, renovated house that is very comfortable and is an easy walk to the historic downtown section of Harrisonburg. Cozy, large yard with ample yard chairs and hammocks. The staff is highly attentive, accessible, and very friendly. Both of the breakfasts we had we're delicious and were ready within minutes of sitting down. We look forward to returning many, many times!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Rebecca on 05/29/2014
We were in Harrisonburg for a JMU event and chose the Stonewall Jackson because of its great reviews and its proximity to downtown. Most places we wanted to go were close by, and even though the Inn is on a major road, it was quiet and we were able to get a great two nights' rest. I really enjoyed the back porch where you could have breakfast if you wanted, or just sit and read. The room was well furnished and clean, and Wayne and Mimi were very helpful hosts, offering suggestions for places to eat and things to do. We will likely be back. John and Becky
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By bark211 on 05/16/2014
This was our fourth visit to the Stonewall Jackson Inn and it never fails to delight. From the moment you arrive until your departure you are treated like family. In fact, probably better. Wayne, Steve and Mimi are very attentive yet by no means omnipresent. They give you your space and this allows you to truly relax and take full advantage of the property. There are several outdoor seating options for enjoying some sunshine or shade with your party. The outdoor breakfast service is especially welcomed. One feels very much at home here and we will most certainly return when the opportunity arrises.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Deborah on 04/30/2014
Steve & Mimi - thanks for your gracious Southern hospitality while we stayed at Stonewall Jackson Inn. You two sure know how to spoil your guests! Wayne - you've done a marvelous job recreating the ambiance and warmth of a historic bed & breakfast that touts artifacts and artwork from the period, exhibited in this gorgeous 19th century mansion. We thoroughly enjoyed spending the night in the George Pickett Room. Our stay was comfortable and quiet, Your inn's proximity to the Historic downtown area was a welcomed bonus. We'll definitely be returning soon! Deb & Tom McCarragher
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Mary on 11/03/2013
From our initial email to walking through the front door for the first time, we were treated like family. We recently traveled to Harrisburg to visit our son, niece & nephew at JMU and stayed in the Inn for two nights. Not one for hotels, we immediately chose Stonewall Jackson Inn and we're glad we did. Wayne and Jonathan could not have been more welcoming and friendly. Our visit was enhanced by their recommendation of the Local Chop House for dinner - excellent service and food. Perhaps, one of our most memorable dining experiences ever with our son - catching up with his new adventures! Never felt rushed through our meal and treated again with top notch service! Meal was 5 star! The Inn was quiet and peaceful. They had a full house, but we were made to feel special. We included our son, niece & boyfriend and nephew to breakfast at the Inn and they loved it too! Wayne & Jonathan took special interest stopping to talk to the teens each morning. We now consider the Innkeepers our friends and will treat ourselves to their beautiful Inn every time we visit our son! My idea of good customer service is to always give folks more than they expect - Wayne & Jonathan accomplished just that! Thank you! Keep the light on for us - we'll see you in the spring!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

<< [Prev] 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 [Next] >>
Write a Review

Visit the website for
Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast a Harrisonburg, VA Bed & Breakfast

Virginia Bed and Breakfasts | Harrisonburg Bed and Breakfasts
 
Accommodations
Rate: $89-$189
Rooms: 10
Handicap Accessible (limited)
Children ages 12+
Print This Page
Tell a friend
Additional Information:
Save in My Inns
Activities
Amenities
Attractions
Availability
Children Policy
Directions
Email
Inspections / Associations
Meals
Policies
Rate Your Stay
Recipes
Reviews
Website