Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast, Harrisonburg, Virginia, (VA)

Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast

547 East Market Street
Harrisonburg VA 22801
(800) 445-5330
(540) 433-8233
View Map
Get Directions

Visit Our Full Website
Innkeepers: Wayne Engel
Email Innkeeper Availability
What Previous Guests Have Said...
Showing results 21 - 30 of 64 Reviews
Guest Reviews
Posted By Breanna on 06/13/2014
Seriously, this was the most comfortable bed that either of us have ever slept in. Our stay was short and we got in late, but everything about the Stonewall Jackson Inn felt warm, welcoming, and we immediately felt right at home. I called the morning of and talked to one of the guys on the phone about our late arrival, when we got there there was a note on the door with my name and instructions on how to find our room and where to meet them for breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was delicious and everyone at the Inn was truly welcoming and the stay was a delight. I only wish we had reason to stay longer.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Tony on 06/04/2014
This was easily the best B&B experience I have ever had. My girlfriend and I we're looking for a quick weekend B&B getaway and could not have been more happy with our decision. Beautiful, historic, renovated house that is very comfortable and is an easy walk to the historic downtown section of Harrisonburg. Cozy, large yard with ample yard chairs and hammocks. The staff is highly attentive, accessible, and very friendly. Both of the breakfasts we had we're delicious and were ready within minutes of sitting down. We look forward to returning many, many times!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Rebecca on 05/29/2014
We were in Harrisonburg for a JMU event and chose the Stonewall Jackson because of its great reviews and its proximity to downtown. Most places we wanted to go were close by, and even though the Inn is on a major road, it was quiet and we were able to get a great two nights' rest. I really enjoyed the back porch where you could have breakfast if you wanted, or just sit and read. The room was well furnished and clean, and Wayne and Mimi were very helpful hosts, offering suggestions for places to eat and things to do. We will likely be back. John and Becky
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By bark211 on 05/16/2014
This was our fourth visit to the Stonewall Jackson Inn and it never fails to delight. From the moment you arrive until your departure you are treated like family. In fact, probably better. Wayne, Steve and Mimi are very attentive yet by no means omnipresent. They give you your space and this allows you to truly relax and take full advantage of the property. There are several outdoor seating options for enjoying some sunshine or shade with your party. The outdoor breakfast service is especially welcomed. One feels very much at home here and we will most certainly return when the opportunity arrises.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Deborah on 04/30/2014
Steve & Mimi - thanks for your gracious Southern hospitality while we stayed at Stonewall Jackson Inn. You two sure know how to spoil your guests! Wayne - you've done a marvelous job recreating the ambiance and warmth of a historic bed & breakfast that touts artifacts and artwork from the period, exhibited in this gorgeous 19th century mansion. We thoroughly enjoyed spending the night in the George Pickett Room. Our stay was comfortable and quiet, Your inn's proximity to the Historic downtown area was a welcomed bonus. We'll definitely be returning soon! Deb & Tom McCarragher
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Mary on 11/03/2013
From our initial email to walking through the front door for the first time, we were treated like family. We recently traveled to Harrisburg to visit our son, niece & nephew at JMU and stayed in the Inn for two nights. Not one for hotels, we immediately chose Stonewall Jackson Inn and we're glad we did. Wayne and Jonathan could not have been more welcoming and friendly. Our visit was enhanced by their recommendation of the Local Chop House for dinner - excellent service and food. Perhaps, one of our most memorable dining experiences ever with our son - catching up with his new adventures! Never felt rushed through our meal and treated again with top notch service! Meal was 5 star! The Inn was quiet and peaceful. They had a full house, but we were made to feel special. We included our son, niece & boyfriend and nephew to breakfast at the Inn and they loved it too! Wayne & Jonathan took special interest stopping to talk to the teens each morning. We now consider the Innkeepers our friends and will treat ourselves to their beautiful Inn every time we visit our son! My idea of good customer service is to always give folks more than they expect - Wayne & Jonathan accomplished just that! Thank you! Keep the light on for us - we'll see you in the spring!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By on 10/26/2013
Stayed at Stonewall Jackson Inn in Harrisonburg in September 2013 as part of our USA vacation. This guest house is run by a semi-retired professor (Wayne) at the local university with the help of a very willing manager (Jonathan). Neither seem to have much experience of running an inn, but try hard. The welcome was extremely friendly and we were given a great deal of information about the locality, places to eat (vouchers provided for free desserts at many local restaurants, but not always honored by the restaurants) and what to do in the area. The breakfasts, taken on the patio or in the summerhouse annex, both of which are accessed the kitchen, are excellent and prepared by Wayne & Jonathan. The room (Sherman) was quirky - an "L" shape with one bed in each arm of the "L", and a handbasin in the room, with a tiny shower/toilet attached. Clearly the housekeeper makes the bed, changes the towels etc but does not do any dusting, as the room was littered with dust and cobwebs. However, we enjoyed our stay and the friendliness of Wayne and Jonathan shone.

Response
Good tip for big people, the shower and bath in this room is the smallest one. Additionally, the beds are smaller with just a full and twin in each gable. Folks normally in size find it cozy and families with a teenager like the privacy of the gabled twin that gives both some separation. Also, the vanity which is in the room makes it conveniently accessible while another family member is enjoying the privacy of a shower or toilet. The Sherman is one of our least expensive rooms for all those reasons. The king and queen rooms have ample larger bathrooms for the larger folks. Thanks for the mention of the mention of the over-site of the housekeeper in respect to her dusting. Needless to say it gives us an excuse to continue to flog them on occasion :-) Seriously, there is no excuse for that, and I have attended to your observation. Thank you for your kind words in respect to Jonathan and myself in respect to our food and service, I an not sure what standard was used to judge us as inexperienced...That would be really great and helpful to us!
Overall: AverageAverageAverageAverageAverage
Cleanliness: Okay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problems
Atmosphere: AverageAverageAverageAverageAverage
Food: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Hospitality: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By on 10/13/2013
We stayed at Stonewall Jackson Inn to celebrate our honeymoon. We wanted to do the wine trail and had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. The prices were VERY reasonable and our breakfast both mornings, was absolutely amazing!! Especially the eggs Benedict. Wayne, the inn keeper and Jonathan, the assistant inn keeper, were both incredibly friendly and welcoming, and made our stay very memorable. They even gave us hugs on the way out. We also both got in-room massages while we were staying there, and very much enjoyed those. They will tell you anything you need to know about the town, restaurants, wineries in the area, etc. Wayne and Jonathan were such happy people, that it was contagious and refreshing. We will be returning for our one year anniversary! :)
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By MG on 09/22/2013
My wife and I were staying in Harrisonburg for a few days to visit her alma mater James Madison University and to see some friends in the area. I was looking for a Bed and Breakfast to stay at, for a change of pace, and I have always had a soft spot for B&Bís since first staying in one in England years ago. The Stonewall Jackson Inn was a wonderful experience. The accommodations were very comfortable, the surroundings were peaceful and quiet, and the breakfast was worth the trip all on its own. For dinner, there are several great restaurants to go to in downtown Harrisonburg, as recommended by Jonathan at the Stonewall Jackson Inn. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend the Stonewall Jackson Inn to others. Wayne, Jonathan and Julie could not have been more accommodating and helpful, and they are what make this place so wonderful to visit.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By alygal1263 on 08/25/2013
My girlfriends and I stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Inn for a bachelorette party and enjoyed every minute of it! The Girls' Getaway package was a perfect addition that made the weekend relaxing. Moreover, Wayne, the owner, was a fabulous chef and very helpful when we were setting up and booking our transportation to local wineries!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

<< [Prev] 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 [Next] >>
Write a Review

Visit the website for
Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast a Harrisonburg, VA Bed & Breakfast

Virginia Bed and Breakfasts | Harrisonburg Bed and Breakfasts
 
Accommodations
Rate: $89-$189
Rooms: 10
Handicap Accessible (limited)
Children ages 12+
Print This Page
Tell a friend
Additional Information:
Save in My Inns
Activities
Amenities
Attractions
Availability
Children Policy
Directions
Email
Inspections / Associations
Meals
Policies
Rate Your Stay
Recipes
Reviews
Specials
Website