Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast, Harrisonburg, Virginia, (VA)

Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast

547 East Market Street
Harrisonburg VA 22801
(800) 445-5330
(540) 433-8233
View Map
Get Directions

Visit Our Full Website
Innkeepers: Wayne Engel
Email Innkeeper Availability
What Previous Guests Have Said...
Showing results 21 - 30 of 56 Reviews
Guest Reviews
Posted By MG on 09/22/2013
My wife and I were staying in Harrisonburg for a few days to visit her alma mater James Madison University and to see some friends in the area. I was looking for a Bed and Breakfast to stay at, for a change of pace, and I have always had a soft spot for B&B’s since first staying in one in England years ago. The Stonewall Jackson Inn was a wonderful experience. The accommodations were very comfortable, the surroundings were peaceful and quiet, and the breakfast was worth the trip all on its own. For dinner, there are several great restaurants to go to in downtown Harrisonburg, as recommended by Jonathan at the Stonewall Jackson Inn. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend the Stonewall Jackson Inn to others. Wayne, Jonathan and Julie could not have been more accommodating and helpful, and they are what make this place so wonderful to visit.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By alygal1263 on 08/25/2013
My girlfriends and I stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Inn for a bachelorette party and enjoyed every minute of it! The Girls' Getaway package was a perfect addition that made the weekend relaxing. Moreover, Wayne, the owner, was a fabulous chef and very helpful when we were setting up and booking our transportation to local wineries!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Todd on 06/12/2013
We've stayed in lots of B&Bs, but we have found a new favorite in the Stonewal Jackson Inn!!! The Inn is lovely and comfortable and the food is fantastic, but the real draw is the hospitality! Wayne is a gem!! We wanted to pack him up and bring him home with us! Jonathan made us feel likekone of the family. We will definitely be back again and again!!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By PG on 06/05/2013
Beautiful home within walking distances to downtown Harrisonburg. We enjoyed the day on the deck and walked downtown for dinner. The room was great and very comfy. Breakfast was delicious and ready at the time we chose. The entire host and staff was so friendly. We enjoyed our getaway! And look forward to our next stay
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By jicdoug on 05/22/2013
Although my wife and I were half sick, we still very much enjoyed our 22nd anniversary at Stonewall Jackson (mid May). The B&B itself (and our room) was beautifully laid out and decorated. The beds were comfortable (my wife said she hadn't slept that well in a long time), and the rooms had interesting books to browse in the realms of history and philosophy/psychology. It was raining, so we drove 5 minutes to the historic downtown area and ate at Clementine's, a uniquely decorated restaurant/bar with live music in the evenings. (I use "unique" as a complement - the walls were covered with interesting "found art" and splashes of color.) The night was quiet aside from the sounds of cars whooshing by. We had our windows open. My wife slept well though I, a light sleeper, had to use ear plugs. Breakfast was what one should expect at a good B&B: good food, upscale country setting, and good rapport with the wait staff. I could have lounged there much longer sipping tea, conversing about psychology (the owner is a James Madison professor), and reading the newspaper (provided), but "had" to go wine tasting. Lastly, Stonewall Jackson B&B was much more reasonably priced than most others I saw in the Charlottesville/Harrisonburg area. - Sincerely, Doug & Holly
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By Rusk0610 on 05/19/2013
We chose to stay at the Stonewall Jackson Inn B&B for our first year anniversary, and it couldn’t have been a better pick! The staff was exceedingly wonderful, and even surprised us with cupcakes to celebrate. They also helped my husband surprise me with two dozen roses in our room one night. The staff had great suggestions on dinner options and things to do in the area. The breakfasts were amazing! The best breakfasts we’ve had in a very long time. The rooms were also cozy and comfortable. We will definitely be coming back to the Stonewall Jackson; I have a feeling this is the first of many visits.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Fay on 04/29/2013
We had a very enjoyable stay. Everyone that works at the inn was very welcoming and went out of their way to meet our needs. The inn is a remarkable, historical building. The breakfast was delicious.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By on 01/02/2013
Came across this bed and breakfast on our way home from New York. It was so much more pleasant to be in this restored mansion than a hotel. The staff welcomed us and got is settled in quickly in a very comfortable room. The breakfast prepared the next morning was amazing. We will definitely plan to return here this year.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Joe and Susan on 11/08/2012
Our stay at Stonewall Jackson B&B was quite nice. I so appreciated the restful atmosphere, the hospitality and the attention to details. Our room was like staying at "grandmas", cozy yet well appointed. Breakfast was outstanding and to know the recipe's are online is so helpful. I even purchased 2 of "their" aprons one to keep and one to give as a gift. We stay at B&B's whenever we travel and I would highly recommend choosing to stay there.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Joe on 06/23/2012
We arrived after 9PM, very tired after driving many hours (and over the mountain) to be greated by Q who has a smile and winning way about her that made us immediately relaxed and welcomed. As our stay progressed it only got better. The Inn is immaculate and beautiful, as is the surrounding area. There I met my future granddaughter (my financee's daughter's child) who melted my heart. After 5 hours of watching Dora the Explorer Saves the Ice Princess, and other great stories, we went to sleep. The next morning we were greeted by Wayne and Frank to a wonderful breakfast. Day one was his excellent french toast with the trimmings, day 2 we were served the best eggs benedict that I ever had! And my future grandchild had outstanding waffles, which Frank volunteered to cut up and sprinkle with powered sugar. Not only did I receive a Grandpa's (for father's day) card for the first time in my 62 years, without a doubt the best service/food as well. Thank you all, and we look forward to returning very soon!!!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

<< [Prev] 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 [Next] >>
Write a Review

Visit the website for
Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast a Harrisonburg, VA Bed & Breakfast

Virginia Bed and Breakfasts | Harrisonburg Bed and Breakfasts
 
Accommodations
Rate: $89-$189
Rooms: 10
Handicap Accessible (limited)
Children ages 12+
Print This Page
Tell a friend
Additional Information:
Save in My Inns
Activities
Amenities
Attractions
Availability
Children Policy
Directions
Email
Inspections / Associations
Meals
Policies
Rate Your Stay
Recipes
Reviews
Specials
Website