Search:
   Advanced Search
Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast, Harrisonburg, Virginia, (VA)

Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast

547 East Market Street
Harrisonburg VA 22801
(800) 445-5330
(540) 433-8233
View Map
Get Directions

Visit Our Full Website
Innkeepers: Wayne Engel
Email Innkeeper Availability
What Previous Guests Have Said...
Showing results 21 - 30 of 52 Reviews
Guest Reviews
Posted By jicdoug on 05/22/2013
Although my wife and I were half sick, we still very much enjoyed our 22nd anniversary at Stonewall Jackson (mid May). The B&B itself (and our room) was beautifully laid out and decorated. The beds were comfortable (my wife said she hadn't slept that well in a long time), and the rooms had interesting books to browse in the realms of history and philosophy/psychology. It was raining, so we drove 5 minutes to the historic downtown area and ate at Clementine's, a uniquely decorated restaurant/bar with live music in the evenings. (I use "unique" as a complement - the walls were covered with interesting "found art" and splashes of color.) The night was quiet aside from the sounds of cars whooshing by. We had our windows open. My wife slept well though I, a light sleeper, had to use ear plugs. Breakfast was what one should expect at a good B&B: good food, upscale country setting, and good rapport with the wait staff. I could have lounged there much longer sipping tea, conversing about psychology (the owner is a James Madison professor), and reading the newspaper (provided), but "had" to go wine tasting. Lastly, Stonewall Jackson B&B was much more reasonably priced than most others I saw in the Charlottesville/Harrisonburg area. - Sincerely, Doug & Holly
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By Rusk0610 on 05/19/2013
We chose to stay at the Stonewall Jackson Inn B&B for our first year anniversary, and it couldn’t have been a better pick! The staff was exceedingly wonderful, and even surprised us with cupcakes to celebrate. They also helped my husband surprise me with two dozen roses in our room one night. The staff had great suggestions on dinner options and things to do in the area. The breakfasts were amazing! The best breakfasts we’ve had in a very long time. The rooms were also cozy and comfortable. We will definitely be coming back to the Stonewall Jackson; I have a feeling this is the first of many visits.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Fay on 04/29/2013
We had a very enjoyable stay. Everyone that works at the inn was very welcoming and went out of their way to meet our needs. The inn is a remarkable, historical building. The breakfast was delicious.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By on 01/02/2013
Came across this bed and breakfast on our way home from New York. It was so much more pleasant to be in this restored mansion than a hotel. The staff welcomed us and got is settled in quickly in a very comfortable room. The breakfast prepared the next morning was amazing. We will definitely plan to return here this year.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Joe and Susan on 11/08/2012
Our stay at Stonewall Jackson B&B was quite nice. I so appreciated the restful atmosphere, the hospitality and the attention to details. Our room was like staying at "grandmas", cozy yet well appointed. Breakfast was outstanding and to know the recipe's are online is so helpful. I even purchased 2 of "their" aprons one to keep and one to give as a gift. We stay at B&B's whenever we travel and I would highly recommend choosing to stay there.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Joe on 06/23/2012
We arrived after 9PM, very tired after driving many hours (and over the mountain) to be greated by Q who has a smile and winning way about her that made us immediately relaxed and welcomed. As our stay progressed it only got better. The Inn is immaculate and beautiful, as is the surrounding area. There I met my future granddaughter (my financee's daughter's child) who melted my heart. After 5 hours of watching Dora the Explorer Saves the Ice Princess, and other great stories, we went to sleep. The next morning we were greeted by Wayne and Frank to a wonderful breakfast. Day one was his excellent french toast with the trimmings, day 2 we were served the best eggs benedict that I ever had! And my future grandchild had outstanding waffles, which Frank volunteered to cut up and sprinkle with powered sugar. Not only did I receive a Grandpa's (for father's day) card for the first time in my 62 years, without a doubt the best service/food as well. Thank you all, and we look forward to returning very soon!!!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Ferg on 01/16/2012
I stayed in the Inn in Early December and really enjoyed the Inns welcome and hospitality. The room was very comfortable with everything I think you could need. I slept well and enjoyed a lovely breakfast. Overall i would be happy to recommend the Inn for its service, hospitality and Breakfast
Overall: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Cleanliness: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By ttcinc64 on 12/20/2011
We stay in B&B's more often than motels when we travel. We stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Inn in Harrisonburg with our Grandson while he participated in the First Lego League State Championship competition for robotics at JMU. We had to be at the competition before SJI's normal morning breakfast, but the host was more than happy to make our delectable meal in time for us to each enjoy two lovely Eggs Benedict, French toast made with Croissants and fruit cup. Sunday’s breakfast featured scrambled eggs with Tarragon. It was unusually good. The Inn is lovely and the owner, Wayne, and host manager David, were very friendly and extremely interested in our Grandson's competition. David actually came to the competition to see it firsthand. I would say the Stonewall Jackson Inn is first rate among the several B&B's we have enjoyed.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Maggie B on 12/17/2011
My Boyfriend and I were traveling from Atlanta to Allentown, Pennsylvania and chose the Stonewall Jackson Inn as a stopping point in the trek home for Thanksgiving. We were running behind schedule an didn't arrive until around 9pm David (great innkeeper and cook!!) was there waiting for us to arrive. He gave us a tour of the inn and suggested some amazing places to eat around town. The Inn is located within walking distance of some great restaurants. While there are some great finer dining places it was the night before Thanksgiving so we chose to do a little pub crawl of the town. JB's and BJ's were two of our favorites. Huge selection of beers, smoked wings, and burgers. We stayed in the Chamberlain room which is located at the front of the house. The bed was wonderful and the room was very clean. Breakfast was amazing. David is a phenomenal cook. We had yogurt and fruit, croissant French toast, bacon, tarragon eggs, and Apple compote. Really really yummy!! Wayne (owner) and David were both superb hosts. We had a nice chat about the history of the inn with them before breakfast and a little tour around the inn. Couldn’t have asked for a more memorable and relaxing place to stay. Thank you Wayne and David!!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Rick on 12/06/2011
This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast. It was like visiting a new friend's home. We spent a quiet evening, relaxing and reading. A late-night trek to the deserted, yet well-lit kitchen found cocoa and other beverages available. Breakfast the next morning was delicious!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

<< [Prev] 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 [Next] >>
Write a Review

Visit the website for
Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast a Harrisonburg, VA Bed & Breakfast

Virginia Bed and Breakfasts | Harrisonburg Bed and Breakfasts
 
Accommodations
Rate: $89-$189
Rooms: 10
Handicap Accessible (limited)
Children ages 12+
Print This Page
Tell a friend
Additional Information:
Save in My Inns
Activities
Amenities
Attractions
Availability
Children Policy
Directions
Email
Inspections / Associations
Meals
Policies
Rate Your Stay
Recipes
Reviews
Website