Search:
   Advanced Search
Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast, Harrisonburg, Virginia, (VA)

Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast

547 East Market Street
Harrisonburg VA 22801
(800) 445-5330
(540) 433-8233
View Map
Get Directions

Visit Our Full Website
Innkeepers: Wayne Engel
Email Innkeeper Availability
What Previous Guests Have Said...
Showing results 21 - 30 of 48 Reviews
Guest Reviews
Posted By Joe and Susan on 11/08/2012
Our stay at Stonewall Jackson B&B was quite nice. I so appreciated the restful atmosphere, the hospitality and the attention to details. Our room was like staying at "grandmas", cozy yet well appointed. Breakfast was outstanding and to know the recipe's are online is so helpful. I even purchased 2 of "their" aprons one to keep and one to give as a gift. We stay at B&B's whenever we travel and I would highly recommend choosing to stay there.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Joe on 06/23/2012
We arrived after 9PM, very tired after driving many hours (and over the mountain) to be greated by Q who has a smile and winning way about her that made us immediately relaxed and welcomed. As our stay progressed it only got better. The Inn is immaculate and beautiful, as is the surrounding area. There I met my future granddaughter (my financee's daughter's child) who melted my heart. After 5 hours of watching Dora the Explorer Saves the Ice Princess, and other great stories, we went to sleep. The next morning we were greeted by Wayne and Frank to a wonderful breakfast. Day one was his excellent french toast with the trimmings, day 2 we were served the best eggs benedict that I ever had! And my future grandchild had outstanding waffles, which Frank volunteered to cut up and sprinkle with powered sugar. Not only did I receive a Grandpa's (for father's day) card for the first time in my 62 years, without a doubt the best service/food as well. Thank you all, and we look forward to returning very soon!!!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Ferg on 01/16/2012
I stayed in the Inn in Early December and really enjoyed the Inns welcome and hospitality. The room was very comfortable with everything I think you could need. I slept well and enjoyed a lovely breakfast. Overall i would be happy to recommend the Inn for its service, hospitality and Breakfast
Overall: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Cleanliness: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By ttcinc64 on 12/20/2011
We stay in B&B's more often than motels when we travel. We stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Inn in Harrisonburg with our Grandson while he participated in the First Lego League State Championship competition for robotics at JMU. We had to be at the competition before SJI's normal morning breakfast, but the host was more than happy to make our delectable meal in time for us to each enjoy two lovely Eggs Benedict, French toast made with Croissants and fruit cup. Sunday’s breakfast featured scrambled eggs with Tarragon. It was unusually good. The Inn is lovely and the owner, Wayne, and host manager David, were very friendly and extremely interested in our Grandson's competition. David actually came to the competition to see it firsthand. I would say the Stonewall Jackson Inn is first rate among the several B&B's we have enjoyed.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Maggie B on 12/17/2011
My Boyfriend and I were traveling from Atlanta to Allentown, Pennsylvania and chose the Stonewall Jackson Inn as a stopping point in the trek home for Thanksgiving. We were running behind schedule an didn't arrive until around 9pm David (great innkeeper and cook!!) was there waiting for us to arrive. He gave us a tour of the inn and suggested some amazing places to eat around town. The Inn is located within walking distance of some great restaurants. While there are some great finer dining places it was the night before Thanksgiving so we chose to do a little pub crawl of the town. JB's and BJ's were two of our favorites. Huge selection of beers, smoked wings, and burgers. We stayed in the Chamberlain room which is located at the front of the house. The bed was wonderful and the room was very clean. Breakfast was amazing. David is a phenomenal cook. We had yogurt and fruit, croissant French toast, bacon, tarragon eggs, and Apple compote. Really really yummy!! Wayne (owner) and David were both superb hosts. We had a nice chat about the history of the inn with them before breakfast and a little tour around the inn. Couldn’t have asked for a more memorable and relaxing place to stay. Thank you Wayne and David!!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Rick on 12/06/2011
This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast. It was like visiting a new friend's home. We spent a quiet evening, relaxing and reading. A late-night trek to the deserted, yet well-lit kitchen found cocoa and other beverages available. Breakfast the next morning was delicious!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Rondo on 11/30/2011
The risk of choosing a bed and breakfast from its website lies in the things the site doesn't disclose: the gas station across the street, the noisy refrigeration at the fish market next door; the squeaky floors and rattling pipes. We found NO undisclosed drawbacks at the Stonewall Jackson Inn. Its website [www.stonewalljacksoninn.com] provides an accurate and, to our experience, complete description of its facilities and its considerable charm. We recommend the inn highly.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By BarbF on 10/09/2011
One of the nicest Inns I have stayed in. It is elegant, without being stuffy. The Innkeeper and staff bend over backwards to make you feel welcome, comfortable and to meet your every need. We stayed in the summer and did some Civil War sites as well as the Skyline Drive - not to be missed! I imagine it would be as beautiful in any season. When they say it is "a breakfast to remember," they are absolutely right. Innkeeper and chef, Wayne Engel, prepares a magnificent breakfast that rivals any 5 star restaurant. We enjoy B&Bs, but frequently look for new ones instead of returning to one we already visited. The Stonewall Jackson B&B is an exception....we will definitely be back! Barbara
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By 2burly2bike on 05/28/2011
Do you remember that moment when you walk in the door of your home after being on the road for hours of wearying of travel and your soul lets out that unheard AHHHH . That is the same experience that we had at the Stonewall Jackson Inn. Dr Wayne and his staff are exceptional at making you feel like family. Our stay at the Stonewall Jackson Inn was one of the highlights of our visit to the Shenandoah Valley.

Response
Wayne here. Thank you for this nice review. Really, you and all my guests are just wonderful folks who fill the Inn with very good energy, ambiance and Karma. I am a very lucky Innkeeper, I suspect that there is a B&B angel that sends me people who are kind, generous and like to feel comfortable and have lots of fun, romance and memories. It helps too, that I am in the lively Historic District of Harrisonburg the fine dining center in the most beautiful and historic part of the Shenandoah Valley of Virgina. Thank you and my other wonderful past guests again for these great reviews and welcome to the Stonewall Jackson Family of happy and and wonderful guests. See you soon, again. Wayne
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Kate on 04/12/2011
My sisters and I came to visit my daughter who is a senior at JMU. I wanted to stay at a B&B since my sisters had never done that. We loved the Stonewall Jackson Inn. Wayne was so gracious when we checked in. He helped us feel at home right away as he showed us to our bright, cheery rooms and explained the history of the Inn. He also helped us with directions to a winery and reservations for dinner at Clementine's. They showed us to the front table when we said Wayne had sent us! He welcomed my daughter and her friend for the delicious breakfast the next morning. My son has 2 more years at JMU and we'll definitely be back. Thank you, Wayne.

Response
You are most welcome. It was my pleasure having you here. I think I had just as much fun as you had!!! Bring you husband and have a great "Breakfast to Remember" with you son.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

<< [Prev] 1 2 [3] 4 5 [Next] >>
Write a Review

Visit the website for
Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast a Harrisonburg, VA Bed & Breakfast

Virginia Bed and Breakfasts | Harrisonburg Bed and Breakfasts
 
Accommodations
Rate: $89-$189
Rooms: 10
Handicap Accessible (limited)
Children ages 12+
Print This Page
Tell a friend
Additional Information:
Save in My Inns
Activities
Amenities
Attractions
Availability
Children Policy
Directions
Email
Inspections / Associations
Meals
Policies
Rate Your Stay
Recipes
Reviews
Website