Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast, Harrisonburg, Virginia, (VA)

Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast

547 East Market Street
Harrisonburg VA 22801
(800) 445-5330
(540) 433-8233
View Map
Get Directions

Visit Our Full Website
Innkeepers: Wayne Engel
Email Innkeeper Availability
What Previous Guests Have Said...
Showing results 21 - 30 of 72 Reviews
Guest Reviews
Posted By Mary on 10/27/2014
My husband and I went to the Stonewall Jackson Inn for a long weekend away to celebrate our anniversary. The Inn was beautifully decorated, very comfortable and friendly. We really enjoyed mornings on the back deck eating our breakfast. The sunrise was amazing to watch! The location of the Inn is perfect. We were able to enjoy the great restaurants in downtown Harrisonburg, as well as civil war battlefields, Cross Key winery and Grand Caverns all within 30 minutes. Since we were there near Halloween time, we also stopped in on several haunted activities, including a walking tour through downtown Harrisonburg to hear ghost stories about some of the old buildings. It was so much fun
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Kellyn on 09/22/2014
The Stonewall Jackson surpassed every expectation I had for a bed & breakfast. My initial reservation was promptly followed by a personal welcome e-mail from Wayne, the owner himself. The extraordinary customer service began immediately. As we pulled up we were waved at by Johnny and Cassandra, who welcomed us, helped us with our bags, and checked us in. They both were extremely helpful, friendly, and professional. Johnny even helped my fiancé with printing some last minute documents he needed for his interview the next day. The inn itself is a nineteenth century historic home situated just a few blocks from downtown Harrisonburg, VA. It is impeccably clean and comfortable without seeming pretentious. And the people who work here are so warm and friendly you feel as if you are staying with family. I asked Candace and Paul, the innkeepers on staff that night, where the nearest drug store was because Jorden forgot his razor. When we walked back from dinner there was a disposable razor in our room. The second evening Paul knocked on our door to bring us strawberries and chocolates. In the evenings, we visited with Johnny and Cassandra, Candace and Paul, and another guest outside on the patio and enjoyed the warm weather and great company. And then there was breakfast prepared by the innkeepers, Paul and Candace. Amazing. Salmon eggs benedict with dill hollandaise sauce one morning and croissant French toast the next morning. No shortage of juice and tea and wonderful fruit, yogurt, and granola parfaits. Incredible. The owner, Wayne, visited with us as he poured my fiancé’s coffee and gave us hiking trail suggestions for the day. I told my fiancé. “I never want to stay in a hotel again. This was awesome.” The human element really made our stay. Cassandra, Johnny, Candace, Paul, and the owner, Wayne were all absolutely stellar; professional, attentive, friendly, and so nice. They all came out of the kitchen to see us off when we left and thanked us for coming. My fiancé and I will be talking about this amazing experience for years to come. We will definitely be back to the Stonewall Jackson. Stay at this bed & breakfast. You will not regret it.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By M&R on 08/28/2014
What a wonderful place to getaway! The Stonewall Jackson Inn is a lovely, historic and restored mansion in Harrionburg Va. Packed with history and smack in the middle of the Shenandoah Valley. Our Innkeeper Wayne and his wonderful staff, Cassandra and Jonathon made us feel like family. A great dinner at a suggested restaurant and a scrumptious breakfast of Eggs Benedict a la Wayne on the Veranda.... Try it, you'll love it!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By MandTF on 08/19/2014
College drop-off for our daughter to JMU coincided with our 29th wedding anniversary so we decided to step it up a notch from the usual Holiday Inn Express. The Inn was a delight. We felt like close friends with the innkeeper from the moment we arrived. We stayed in the J.E.B. Stewart room and had the most comfortable bed ever. Each room has their own temperature control which is a plus. All of the standard hotel amenities were included (iron/ironing board, hair dryer, soaps and shampoos). The only thing that made me want to get out of bed were the smells wafting from the kitchen. Our breakfast was served on the beautiful outdoor deck. We cannot think of one thing that could have been changed to make our visit any better. Thank you Wayne, Johnny, Kass and Jonathan.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Tennis Guy on 07/16/2014
The Inn was wonderful and exceeded our expectations. The room was great, the food wonderful and the staff (Jonathan, Julie, Steve, Mimi, Johnny, Cssandra) could not have been better. Our hats off to Wayne (owner) and his wonderful staff.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Nick on 07/13/2014
We came for a two night stay in the middle of the week in celebration of a birthday. The inn is a short drive from several vineyards, and even a cidery. Breakfast was delicious and fun. It was really nice to sit outside on their deck to eat (though there were indoor options as well). Later one evening, we shared a bottle of wine on the deck to relax. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Jennifer on 07/07/2014
Even before we got to the Stonewall Jackson Inn, the innkeepers sent us the most welcoming email I've ever gotten from any business. They assisted us in making dinner reservations for our anniversary before we came to town. Once we arrived, they were great about showing us directions around town and making suggestions. The room was very nice. Highlights: incredibly comfortable bedding, a great view of the mountains in the distance, pretty furniture, and lots of Civil War/local history books. There are a couple of hammocks on the property and a great veranda covered with climbing vines & twinkling lights. Easy walking distance to the town. Breakfast was so good I'm still thinking about it a couple of weeks later! The innkeepers were extremely personable and kind throughout our stay and check out was a breeze. It beats a chain hotel any day of the week and we'll definitely return the next time we're in the area.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: AverageAverageAverageAverageAverage

Posted By Connie on 06/27/2014
Travelling from Canada to a golf event in Richmond we decided to stay overnight at this welcoming historic downtown home . Jonathan met us in the driveway to help with luggage, get us checked in and oriented and pointed in the right direction for an evening dinning experience. Breakfast on the back porch was superb. Everything about our accommodation and experience was first class. We would definitely return. Room Tip: Large room on main floor with private entrance was excellent.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Breanna on 06/13/2014
Seriously, this was the most comfortable bed that either of us have ever slept in. Our stay was short and we got in late, but everything about the Stonewall Jackson Inn felt warm, welcoming, and we immediately felt right at home. I called the morning of and talked to one of the guys on the phone about our late arrival, when we got there there was a note on the door with my name and instructions on how to find our room and where to meet them for breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was delicious and everyone at the Inn was truly welcoming and the stay was a delight. I only wish we had reason to stay longer.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Tony on 06/04/2014
This was easily the best B&B experience I have ever had. My girlfriend and I we're looking for a quick weekend B&B getaway and could not have been more happy with our decision. Beautiful, historic, renovated house that is very comfortable and is an easy walk to the historic downtown section of Harrisonburg. Cozy, large yard with ample yard chairs and hammocks. The staff is highly attentive, accessible, and very friendly. Both of the breakfasts we had we're delicious and were ready within minutes of sitting down. We look forward to returning many, many times!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

<< [Prev] 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 ... [Next] >>
Write a Review

Visit the website for
Stonewall Jackson Inn - Bed and Breakfast a Harrisonburg, VA Bed & Breakfast

Virginia Bed and Breakfasts | Harrisonburg Bed and Breakfasts
 
Accommodations
Rate: $89-$189
Rooms: 10
Handicap Accessible (limited)
Children ages 12+
Print This Page
Tell a friend
Additional Information:
Save in My Inns
Activities
Amenities
Attractions
Availability
Children Policy
Directions
Email
Inspections / Associations
Meals
Policies
Rate Your Stay
Recipes
Reviews
Website