Search:
   Advanced Search
The White Doe Inn, Manteo, North Carolina, (NC)
The White Doe Inn

Pictures

Share |

The White Doe Inn

319 Sir Walter Raleigh Street
Manteo NC 27954
(800) 473-6091
(252) 473-9851
View Map
Get Directions

Visit Our Full Website
Innkeepers: Bob & Bebe Woody

Tell the innkeeper you found them on BnBFinder.com

Email Innkeeper Availability
Write a Review

Visit the website for
The White Doe Inn a Manteo, NC Bed & Breakfast
GUEST REVIEWS
OVERALL

Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average


4.2  based on
5  reviews
Overall: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Cleanliness: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Atmosphere: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Food: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Hospitality: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average


The White Doe Inn, an Outer Banks bed & breakfast, has been welcoming guests to Manteo, North Carolina since the turn-of-the-century. As one of the most photographed homes on the island, visitors have for years admired its beautiful architectural details and fancied a brief stay in this lovely old home, just minutes away from beautiful beaches along the Outer Banks.

Roanoke Island is surrounded by the tranquil waters of the Croatan and Pamlico Sounds. Here you will find, snugly tucked in along the shoreline of Shallow bag Bay, the lovely waterfront village of Manteo - a place where the road is less traveled, a place where one can sit on the porches and watch the world go by, and a place where both natural and cultural resources abound. The White Doe Inn offers an unparalleled list of amenities and services. Our staff is trained in the art of hospitality and delight in making sure that our guests receive the highest level of attention from the day of arrival to the day of departure.

The White Doe Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places - noted for its historic and architectural significance. The Inn has been awarded a Three-Diamond Rating by AAA and we are also members of Select Registry, North American Inns of Distinction, the North Carolina Bed & Breakfast Inns and the Professional Association of International Innkeepers. Today, Innkeepers Bebe and Bob Woody make every effort to recapture that era of traveler comfort and camaraderie.
Activities & Attractions Go To Top
Antique Shops Antiquing Aquarium Beach
Biking Bird Watching Boating Canoeing
Classes and Courses Elizabethan Gardens Fine Dining Fishing
Fort Raleigh National Park Golfing Historical Sites Hunting
Jockey's Ridge Park Kayaking Lighthouses Lost Colony Outdoor Drama
Museum/Galleries National/State Parks North Carolina Aquarium Ocean
Outlet Stores Picnic Areas Roanoke Island Festival Park Sailing
Shopping Sight-seeing Spa Services Swimming
Tennis Theatre/ Concerts/ Performances Vineyard/Winery Water Sports
Weddings Wright Brother's Memorial
Amenities
(Amenities may not apply to all rooms - Please Inquire)
Go To Top
Afternoon Tea Afternoon Tea/Desserts Air Conditioned Alarm Clock
Antiques Bicycles Available Boat Docks (nearby) Copier
DVD Desk Evening Sherry Fax
Fireplace in Common Area Fireplace in Room Gift Shop Guest Refrigerator
Guest Telephone Hairdryer Handicapped Accessible (Limited) High Speed Data Port
Ironing Board Jacuzzi/Hot Tub in Room King Bed Library
Massage Available Microwave Parking Piano
Private Balcony Private Baths Private Entrance Queen Bed
Spa Services TV in Common Area TV in Room Telephone in Room
Turndown Service VCR Videos Wake Up Service
Wireless Internet
Inn Known For Go To Top
Babymoons Birdwatching Gourmet Cuisine Group Events
Honeymoons National Register of Historic Places Receptions Romantic Escapes
Tour Lighthouses Vegetarian Cuisine Weddings/Vow Renewals
Forms of Payment Go To Top
Accepts Gift CertificatesBnBFinder.com Gift Certificates
Cash Checks Master Card
Travelers Checks Visa
Discounts Go To Top
7 Night Excursion Mid-Week Sojourn Military Discounts
Inspections/Associations Go To Top
Inspections
AAA Three Diamond Rated Property
Select Registry Inns of Distinction
North Carolina Bed & Breakfasts and Inns Association
Associations
North Carolina Bed & Breakfasts and Inns Association
Professional Association of International Innkeepers
Select Registry
Languages Spoken By Innkeeper Go To Top
English
Meals Go To Top
Afternoon Refreshments Cheese and Fruit Tray available upon request Continental Plus Breakfast Full Gourmet Breakfast
Picnic Baskets available upon request.

The White Doe Inn is pleased to provide a delicious full four-course seated and served breakfast. For those that enjoy a lighter fare we also have homemade cereal and home baked breads. Our full service coffee and espresso bar with Green Mountain Coffee and Harney & Sons Tea set the tone for breakfast.

Policies Go To Top
Check In Policy:
Check in 3:00pm - 6:00pm. Late check-in requires prior arrangements.
Check Out Policy:
Check out is 11:00am
Cancellation Policy:
Reservations canceled 14 days or less are non refundable. Groups booking three or more rooms must call for cancellation policy. A $25.00 cancellation fee applies to all cancellations.
Children: Children ages 12+
Childcare: No
Deposit Policy:
A deposit of 50% is required at the time of booking. Full payment is required for all one night stays.
No Pets Allowed
Pets Living At Inn: Yes
Two Yorkshire Terriers and a resident Cat, that are not allowed access to guest areas.
Smoking: Outside
What Previous Guests Have Said...
Showing results 1 - 7 of 7 Reviews
Guest Reviews
Posted By Barbara on 12/01/2013
Beautiful Inn, great hosts, wonderful town
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By jbcvnc on 11/17/2012
For a B&B that bills itself and its customers as a "distinguished" inn, this one fell short. At the very least, any B&B should have excellent coffee. Theirs isn't even good -- and on the first morning, there were lapses in its availability. The second morning, we were not the only guests who went elsewhere to buy a morning coffee. I thought the breakfast was OK but nothing special: my wife thought it was awful. We've had more distinguished breakfasts at lower-tiered B&Bs. The breakfast service the second morning was barely adequate; the first morning it was sub-standard. The afternoon dessert was good, except for the lack of decent coffee, on par with other B&Bs of all levels in which we've stayed. Other B&Bs in this class serve guests afternoon wine; The White Doe will sell it to you. Our room was too cold, though linens were quality and bed was comfortable. The gardens are nice, but after several hours of tourist activities, we returned for some R&R, only to find a wedding in progress, limiting our access to the facilities. If they had merely told us about it, we could've rearranged our schedule for the day.

Response
We were very sorry to learn that your experience at The White Doe Inn was so disappointing. We strive to meet our guest’s expectations and when we fall short appreciate getting the feedback. Your comments will certainly be taken into consideration and corrected this winter and spring; in the meantime, I would like to address each of them individually. You are correct that the carpet is due to be replaced in the East Lake Bedchamber. Each year we replace several rooms and the East Lake is on schedule for early 2013. The lights on each side of the bed are reproductions; we are removing them and taking them to a lamp shop to have the switches replaced. The glass on one side of the sink in the bathroom was cracked as you stated; I like to use glass but since this is the second time one of them has been broken we have already replaced them with something that is non-breakable. We do have a Gardner that maintains the outside plants and performs maintenance. We will have him pay more attention to the balcony areas and trimming back the plants away from the inn. As for the grits being served at breakfast … grits are a mainstay southern dish that we provide to guests that want them or may wish to try them. We offer our guests a choice as to whether they want them or not. You should have been asked by your server if you wished them or not. If you were not, we apologize and will follow up with our servers to make sure they let our guests know it is an option. Brittany is one of our night desk employees. She is usually very good with our guests and we have received many compliments about her. So, I am not sure what may have made the difference with your interaction with her. We have shown her your letter (along with all our staff) and we are working to make sure that all of our employees are more responsive to our guests. As to why we did not meet you when you were here; I can only say that Innkeepers are not always available 24-7. Perhaps we were away at which time our Manager Caline Jenkins would have been available to our guests. We always recommend to guests that they let the Innkeepers or Managers know if they are not satisfied with their accommodations. We would have taken the opportunity to up-grade your room if we had known. We regret that you feel so strongly as to never want to stay with us again. However, we do understand that when we do not meet someone’s expectations this may be the ultimate result. We do appreciate your taking the time to let us know so that we can make these changes to better serve our future guests at The White Doe Inn.
Overall: Okay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problems
Cleanliness: AverageAverageAverageAverageAverage
Atmosphere: AverageAverageAverageAverageAverage
Food: Okay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problems
Hospitality: Okay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problems
Expectations: Okay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problemsOkay, but some problems

Posted By on 12/30/2011
I wish I could give the food more than 5 stars. The breakfasts were phenomenal!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Rich on 09/07/2009
A great place to stay if seeking a vacation on the OUTER BANKS or even as a WEEKEND GETAWAY. The GARDEN room was amazing with your a huge KING size bed and jetted garden tub. The patio door was used to enter and exit without going through the entire house. Snacks, cakes, and coffee were available 24/7. A very nice place to stay for an Anniversary.
Overall: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Cleanliness: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By DBryan on 10/27/2008
The Inn is beautiful, decorated with antiques, rooms were comfortable and inviting, host/hostess very gracious, everything was done to make our stay memorable. We highly recommend it!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Atmosphere: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By J Walsh on 08/25/2007
Wish our stay was longer so we could have enjoyed all the varied and thoughtful amenties! A nurturing, pampered environment was easily enjoyed indoors and out. Location was ideal for walking to Manteo attractions. Highly recommended.

Posted By Gene Rappoport on 07/27/2004
The inn was lovely and the food was delicious.

[1]
Write a Review

Visit the website for
The White Doe Inn a Manteo, NC Bed & Breakfast

North Carolina Bed and Breakfasts | Manteo Bed and Breakfasts
 
Accommodations
Rate: $185-$380
Rooms: 8
Handicap Accessible (limited)
Children ages 12+
Print This Page
Tell a friend
Additional Information:
Save in My Inns
Activities
Amenities
Attractions
Availability
Children Policy
Directions
Email
Inspections / Associations
Meals
Policies
Rate Your Stay
Reviews
Website