Penury Hall Bed and Breakfast, Southwest Harbor, Maine, (ME)

Penury Hall Bed and Breakfast

374 Main St
Southwest Harbor ME 04679
(207) 244-7102
View Map

Visit Our Full Website
Innkeepers: Gretchen Strong
Email Innkeeper Availability
What Previous Guests Have Said...
Showing results 11 - 20 of 21 Reviews
Guest Reviews
Posted By Sodie on 09/13/2011
Penury Hall is very convenient to everything on Desert Island, Maine. The breakfasts were great!! The hostess very welcoming and accommodating. What more could you want from a Bed and Breakfast?!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: UnsatisfactoryUnsatisfactoryUnsatisfactoryUnsatisfactoryUnsatisfactory

Posted By Virginia on 09/10/2011
From the moment we arrived at Penury Hall, I was thankful that we had chosen to stay there. Gretchen welcomed us and made us feel truly at home right away. When I mentioned that I had forgotten to bring a charger for my laptop, she turned the house inside out looking for one! The breakfast was excellent--especially the Apple Syrup on the Cinnamon French Toast. The location of the inn was convenient and quiet, just at the edge of the "shops and restaurants" part of town. I strongly recommend staying in Southwest Harbor in general, and Penury Hall in particular!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By lillie on 08/27/2011
Gracious, welcoming owner, lovely quiet room, and delicious breakfasts. What more could a traveler ask for. This was my second stay, and, with luck and God willing, I will be back next year. Lillie
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By jvan on 08/17/2011
Gretchen is lovely, house is wonderful and located right in the heart of Southwest Harbor, with easy access to restaurants. Gretchen was very accommodating about dietary issues and is a joy to talk to.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Ajimoni on 07/27/2011
I was on a road trip with my parents to visit our old vacations haunts in Maine. Nothing says fun like an eight hour drive with your parents. Needless to say, arriving at Penury Hall was good timing, as we all needed a break and a place to stretch out and relax. Now my Mom can write a review and wax all lady like about the lovely rooms, the eclectic decorations, the delicious breakfasts and the lovely, old fashioned flower and vegetable garden. As the hip kid in the back of the car, just about to turn 50, I can let you travelers in on other, similarly important things. After an eight hour drive with your parents, a gal needs some alone time. I had brought along my laptop, but was pretty much convinced it would be a useless, heavy lump in my back pack. Not so!! As the inn keeper Gretchen explained to me, her prescient son had recommened she wire the whole house for WiFi. I went upstairs to my pretty, pink room, shut the door, cuddled up on the bed and in a few minutes, had connected to the wifi. Then it was email and internet city. The Wifi was so powerful, I was able to go to HBO Go and watch the latest episode of Tru Blood, with nary a freeze or a disconnect. Some things are too important to wait till one gets home. The other thing of great importance was something we all take for granted. Water pressure in the shower. Awsome. Hot, strong and adjustable. As well, the bathrooms are spacious and give one plenty of room for primping and other morning rituals. So in addition to comfortable,pretty rooms, great food, and a nice location right in town - there are the added pleasures of being able to connect to the outside world and take a nice, hot shower every morning. I love it when old world charms are mixed with modern world conveniences. Penury Hall made my parents and ME - very happy.
Overall: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Cleanliness: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Atmosphere: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Food: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Hospitality: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Expectations: AverageAverageAverageAverageAverage

Posted By phil on 09/05/2010
Penury Hall is comfortable, quiet -- even though it's in the center of town -- affordable, and convenient. Gretchen is a great host: she really makes you feel like you're staying with a friend. If you want overwhelming luxury or cutesiness, it isn't your place. But if you want to feel comfortable and welcome, to be casual and to stay in a place that feels like home -- with great breakfasts, Penury Hall is a perfect choice. We've stayed there twice now, and been tremendously pleased both times. We've stayed in much more upscale and expensive places, and have never been happier than at Penury Hall.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By Steel wool kid on 08/30/2010
Penury Hall is a traditional B&B in an older home with lots of atmosphere. Each of our 3 breakfasts were different and great. Southwest Harbor provides a smaller town atmosphere that Bar Harbor, but still has several great restaurants. The most outstanding feature of this B&B was the owner who was most knowledgeable and helpful in giving us information on how best to see the Mt. Desert Island/Acada NP area in the time we had. Highly recommended for anyone looking for an outstanding traditional B&B in a very scenic location.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Mary on 08/27/2010
Penury Hall is a beautiful place to stay. Sunny rooms and interesting decorations. The B&B is right in the middle of things in Southwest Harbor. Gretchen is very welcoming, made us feel right at home. Plenty of books and brochures to help you find things to do in the area. There are a couple of cats, if you have issues with cats. But my husband is allergic and had no trouble - I think they spend a lot of time outdoors and don't hang around in the guest rooms.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Priscilla on 08/24/2010
We loved this B & B. It was very comfortable and very clean, just the way we like it. Gretchen is a very gracious host and made us feel right at home. The breakfast's were delicious and served very graciously. The location is excellent as we were near downtown and could walk to restaurants and shops.She was very helpful as to directions and what to see. Met some very nice people at breakfast. We would definitely go back.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Angela & Al on 08/12/2010
If you are seeking a B&B with a kind, friendly, informative hostess Penury Hall is just the place. Our Hostess Gretchen Strong could not have been more helpful, thoughtful, friendly, informative and generous to our every need. The rooms are well kept and comfortable and the location is within walking distance to good food, great ice cream and typical Maine hospitality. It is quite easy to get to hiking trails, bicycle paths and the Loop Road of Acadia National Park. Above all Gretchen gives you the feeling of being at home and very comfortable. What could be better!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: AverageAverageAverageAverageAverage

<< [Prev] 1 [2] 3 [Next] >>
Write a Review

Visit the website for
Penury Hall Bed and Breakfast a Southwest Harbor, ME Bed & Breakfast

Maine Bed and Breakfasts | Southwest Harbor Bed and Breakfasts
 
Accommodations
Rate: $120-$165
Rooms: 3
Print This Page
Tell a friend
Additional Information:
Save in My Inns
Activities
Amenities
Attractions
Availability
Email
Meals
Policies
Rate Your Stay
Reviews
Website