Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast, Jacksonville, Illinois, (IL)

Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast

1109 West State Street
Jacksonville IL 62650
(217) 245-1013
View Map
Get Directions

Visit Our Full Website
Innkeepers: Gwenn Eyer
Email Innkeeper Availability
What Previous Guests Have Said...
Showing results 11 - 20 of 60 Reviews
Guest Reviews
Posted By Cruise Rookie Mama on 12/01/2015
A true gem of the midwest, Blessings is a beautiful place full of charm and coziness. Loved the Serenity Suite and all of the Christmas trees (even had one in my sitting room!). The Innkeepers are a genuine, warm couple, who really make one feel at home: the sign by the door that reads something like: "Come as strangers, leave as friends" really resonates!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: UnsatisfactoryUnsatisfactoryUnsatisfactoryUnsatisfactoryUnsatisfactory
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Above AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove AverageAbove Average

Posted By Sandra on 10/14/2015
This was our first experience with Blessings on State B&B and we were very pleased with this beautiful Victorian house in a lovely, quiet historic district of Jacksonville, IL. We were visiting friends in the area and wanted something different than the normal motel/hotel that Jacksonville offers. Gwenn and Glenn were very gracious and warm hosts who sat and introduced themselves and gave us a little history of their coming to Jacksonville. Our suite on the second floor was beautifully decorated and clean. The bath has been updated with a tub and separate shower. The annex room was made up like a Parisian garret with a daybed. Breakfast the next morning was truly homemade and presented lovingly next to a window overlooking their garden/yard. The house has a wrap-around porch and the weather was such that we were able to enjoy sitting outside and enjoying the beautiful fall colors surrounding the neighborhood. If you are in the area of Jacksonville (there are several colleges in the area), please consider staying at Blessings on State. It truly lives up to its name. Thank you, Gwenn and Glenn.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Pat on 08/19/2015
The best B&B I have ever had the pleasure of staying in! The rooms are exceptionally large and have the amenities of high end B&B"s. We needed a quiet get-away, and the owners went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Truly a blessing to stay at Blessings on State B&B.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Carrie on 07/28/2015
We had an awesome stay at Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast. They opened their beautiful home to us as if we were family. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and provided us with information to explore their historic city. The food and hospitality was outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We loved it so much, my husband had to return to the area a week later and stayed there again. We definitely want to stay at Blessing on State Bend & Breakfast again. We love Valerie!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Jodi on 04/22/2015
We have never visited a bed and breakfast and my goodness what a treat! Gwenn, Glenn and Valerie were the best hosts and our breakfast was absolutely amazing. We own our own housekeeping business and I find it extremely hard to stay in hotels, this B&B was absolutely spotless and immaculate!!! I have stayed in 5star hotels that were not nearly up to par with Blessings. We are excited to be able to have a place to be home away from home while our daughter attends college in Illinois. I highly recommend a stay !
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Tommy on 04/13/2015
Our stay at Blessings on State in Jacksonville,IL was wonderful!!! It was beyond our expectations. Th food was wonderful! We felt like we were part of the family! The access to coffee and tea was a great touch and then to find homemade brownies when we returned at 9:00 that night was such a welcome surprise! Inplan to stay again in June!!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Chris on 04/01/2015
I loved staying here. I have stayed at B and B'S in England and in Fredericksburg, TX and this one takes the cake. I was greeting by Valerie and Glenn and I immediately knew that i would be comfortable there.My room was comfortable and clean.I felt like a queen..The next morning we were served a delicious breakfast consisting of an egg casserole baked in a ramikin,a delicious baked pear and a warm moist cinnamon muffin.I so enjoyed talking with Gwenn who is one of the innkeepers. She is personable and made me feel at home..I will stay again. thank you for a nice stay. This home is in a beautiful setting and is peaceful and quiet..I will stay there again. Thank you
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Piano Player on 01/23/2015
I LOVED this house!!!!!!! I have always dreamed of living in a Victorian home and this tops the cake! It was nice to relax and spend time with my husband for our anniversary too! (LOL!) The breakfasts were amazing, especially the ice cream on waffles and fruit!!!!! The rooms are unbelievably huge and squeaky clean. The owners are like family, and we plan on returning in the future. We also loved the local restaurants and shops on the square and the Tea Room and Pedlar antiques.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Steve on 11/21/2014
Uncle and grandma came to town and with a baby in the house it was too much to host them here. So we went to Blessings On State her in Jacksonville, Illinois, and the stay was above and beyond! My relatives crowed about breakfast and a delicious apple and caramel treat that ended the meal. The B&B is on historic State Street and they loved the neighborhood. Quiet, a short walk to Illinois College. Home was warm and cozy, easy parking, and wonderful care. Super clean. Would recommend to all.
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

Posted By Mary JO on 07/28/2014
We had a wonderful stay at Blessings on State Street in Jacksonville, IL. The house is amazing, the hosts most welcoming and the assistant inn keeper a real charmer!
Overall: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Cleanliness: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Atmosphere: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Food: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Hospitality: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!
Expectations: Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!Outstanding!

<< [Prev] 1 [2] 3 4 5 [Next] >>
Write a Review

Visit the website for
Blessings on State Bed & Breakfast a Jacksonville, IL Bed & Breakfast

Illinois Bed and Breakfasts | Jacksonville Bed and Breakfasts
 
Accommodations
Rate: $119-$169
Suites: 2
Print This Page
Tell a friend
Additional Information:
Save in My Inns
Activities
Amenities
Attractions
Availability
Directions
Email
Inspections / Associations
Meals
Policies
Rate Your Stay
Recipes
Reviews
Specials
Website